Monday, March 14, 2011

The Time of Lent, the names of Sundays in Lent and their meanings

The Time of Lent is a penitential time, meaning a time for repentance, learning, fasting, practicing self-control, and growing in faith. While all these practices are encouraged throughout the year, the time of Lent encourages a heightened awareness of Jesus Christ's suffering and death on the Cross.

Lent began with Ash Wednesday on March 9, 2011. Our Savior Lutheran Church celebrates Ash Wednesday each year by offering, to those who wish it, the imposition of ashes upon their forehead, to remind us, "Remember you are dust, and to dust you shall return."(Genesis 3:19)

The time of Lent is 40 days which does not include Sundays. So you will see the Sundays during Lent titled "Sunday in Lent" along with a Latin title. The Latin titles are explained below...

Invocabit – First Sunday in Lent
Psalm 91:15 – Invocavit me et exaudiam eum
Introit - He shall call upon Me

Reminiscere – Second Sunday in Lent
Psalm 25:6 – Reminiscere miserationum tuarum Domine
Introit - Remember, O Lord

Oculi – The Third Sunday in Lent
Psalm 25:15 – Oculi mei simper ad Dominum
Introit - Mine eyes

Laetare – The Fourth Sunday in Lent
Latin opening of Introit "Rejoice ye"

Judica – The Fifth Sunday in Lent - Passion Sunday
Latin opening of Introit "Judge me"
Psalm 42, Judica me, Deus
Judge me, O God